All the Difference

Posted on

They came to us
unwritten.
Full of stories
never recorded,
open to genres
never read.
We asked them to
“skate across the surface of a poem”
(Thanks, Billy!)
And…
they did.

Golden words
spill across the pages.
Books fly open,
pages shooting out wondrous words.
Eyes alight at the author’s craft…
While those same minds think…
“I can do that!”
and then…they do!

Readers who write and
writers who read…
This year- such a gift!
All wrapped up in book jackets
and the clear voice of writers
like water spraying over rocks,
spilling truth and pain and beauty.

What a lucky world –
One day soon
these shining children
will lead with golden hearts and minds.
Fast forward to fall
New faces, new places
Earth shifting beneath my feet
The children are the only constant…
the ones I dream of still.
And they have made all the difference .

 


3 thoughts on “All the Difference

  1. Hi Susan,

    I found my way here from Kate’s Teachers Write! blog. I really enjoyed reading your posts. Being a school teacher that has one more week of school to go, I totally can relate to everything that you are writing. I teach 6th grade social studies (78 students) and language arts (25 students), and I love it. With the new APPR and SLO requirements, teaching is becoming an even more overwhelming task than it was before these requirements were put into place, but as dedicated teachers we will navigate our ways while still teaching children and helping them find success in the classroom.

    Good luck with your writing and the blog! I will be back to read more!:)

  2. Ahhhh, my golden line in this poem is: “And they have made all the difference .” Yes, they have!! Loving the blog more and more with every post! 🙂

    • Thanks, Michelle! I am having so much fun trying to do this every day. So glad you are reading and responding! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *